Alphabetical explanations

You know how you always hear about how chefs dislike cooking at home or for friends because it’s just like still being at work for them?

I’ve always had a need to write to express myself and, I suppose, fulfil an urge for creativity. I still have (probably in one of the boxes I’ve not unpacked in three years) several journals full of that particular type of bad, angsty poetry teenagers produce. When I started writing here it was partly to fill a gap in my professional life. Yet it’s surprised me how hard I’ve found it to be inspired as to topics now that I’m back to writing (lots) every single day.

So I give thanks to one of my favourite fashion bloggers, Lady Smaggle, for the inspiration she’s provided. I’m never sure about these blog meme things, they’ve always smacked  a bit of chain letters to me. But it’s given me kickstart, so here goes.

(And if you are anti-blog fodder like this, here’s a photo of one of my favourite pieces of public art instead.)

A. Age: 26. Probably. Apparently it’s true about the number being less important once you get past a certain point.
B. Bed size: A queen double. My bed and mattress were one of the first, and still most thrifty, purchases I made when it became apparent I was going to have to fill a house (not apartment) with furniture on my own.
C. Chore that you hate: Washing dishes. I don’t mind drying, but I dislike washing. Thank goodness for dishwasher machines.
D. Dogs: I have joint custody of a naughty kelpie. Well, he’s got a reputation but actually he’s a lot less naughty now he’s a few years older. But still quite neurotic.
E. Essential start to your day: Food. I just don’t function without having eaten within about an hour of getting up. It doesn’t really matter what the food is, though I’m not so partial to sausages or cold pizza.
F. Favorite color: Blue in general but red in clothes.
G. Gold or Silver: Silver all the way. I don’t remember making a conscious choice on this but somehow I’ve wound up with 98 per cent silver jewellery and the few gold pieces I do have, I rarely wear. If I got a say in that most traditional of gold jewellery — engagement/wedding bands — I wouldn’t go for yellow gold. Also I have strong opinions about not mixing silver and gold jewellery.
H. Height: Tall enough relative to my man that we fit well when hugging.
I. Instruments you play: Saxophone, sporadically. I’m sure I could pick some piano up again (I stopped playing when in uni) but it would be frustrating not to be at the level I was previously. I did revive my clarinet skills for a musical early last year but I wouldn’t like to have to rely on them.
J. Job title: Journalist. But I think it would be more awesome to have something like “grand vizier”.
K. Kids: Just that  joint-custodial-kelpie at this stage.
L. Live: At home. Not with Julia.
M. Mother’s name: Has not been passed on to me. But my brother’s got an inherited middle name.
N. Nicknames: Oddly, no one really uses a nickname for me although my name would easily be shortened.
O. Overnight hospital stays: Never. Yet.
P. Pet peeves: Spelling mistakes in books. People not listening (I’m culpable on this occasionally). Navy blue with black.
Q. Quote from a movie: I can never remember movie quotations off the top of my head. Nor song titles or usually even what band performs a song.
R. Right or left handed: Right handed. Obviously I’m not destined to be President of the United States.
S. Siblings: The aforementioned brother.
U. Underwear: I’m strongly in favour of underwear. And I think too many people these days need reminding that tights, like underwear, are not pants.
V. Vegetable you hate: Gherkins. I’m not a massive fan, but I’ll eat them if they’re in a salad or sandwich. I like most foods.
W. What makes you run late: Usually last minute phone calls as I’m about to walk out of the office. I try not to run late.
X. X-Rays you’ve had: Only for my teeth before braces and then again for wisdom teeth.
Y. Yummy food that you make: Baked goods! My oven is not working properly at the moment and it’s most frustrating.
Z. Zoo animal: I have to say, I fell in love with the red panda at Mogo. They’re not that exciting when you see them just sleeping (which seems to be their standard mode) but Sam and his interest in my food were adorable. Also, cotton-top tamarins.

Et voila, instant blog post. I promise some book reviews on Monday — I haven’t had  a chance to read much lately but I have found a few gems.

Leave a Reply

