Another year, or maybe less…

The realisation has come upon me that I think I’m all grown up now. Although there are still sometimes slimy and/or mouldy things in my fridge. I think perhaps my best friend having a baby and the thought of having one myself in the next few years becoming a more concrete concept have something to do with this.

So allow me to be a little self-indulgent on the eve of a birthday (no, it’s not a particularly significant birthday but if one can’t be self-indulgent on a blog, then where?) and reflect on the past year — and perhaps I’m dishing out some advice for the year to come too.

1. It’s ok to say no. In fact, sometimes it might be better to. You have to learnt that it’s ok take time for yourself and just unwind with a book. This is something I got told many years ago, but it’s really come back to me in the past 12 months or so. It’s something a lot of women have problems remembering because we’re so involved in getting out there and helping everyone else.

2. Even as a grown up you can still make new friends. I know this might not sound radical but I haven’t made any new really good friends in some years before the one that’s just happened. Colleagues, associates, people to hang out with, yes; but people to whom you can pour your heart out or whom you’d do everything you could to help out, no. But this past year has brought some amazing new friends for whom I am incredibly grateful.

3. He’s just got different taste in books to you. That’s ok, you don’t always get around to reading the things he recommends either. The pair of you will just have to resign yourselves to your book collection growing at double the rate of many people’s. But his idea to write down everything you read is a good one. It won’t help you remember storylines any better though.

4. Don’t be afraid of agreeing with the hairdresser. This one’s good and she does know what she’s doing.

5. Possibly you have more influence than you think. Remember how you managed to (co-)convince all those people to donate quite a lot money just to see you wear a silly dress (and for a good cause)?

6. Gyms turn out not to be scary places when you do them right. Next step is to talk to the other ladies there.

7. Dream, plan, and don’t get too bogged down in where you are now. Be persistent. Listen to the people who believe in you. Continue to believe that unexpected, happy things will happen.

(The post title is a line from one of my favourite old jazz songs, Makin’ Whoopee. I adore Peggy Lee’s version but Amanda Palmer does a good one too.)

3 thoughts on “Another year, or maybe less…

  1. Vivzilla March 25, 2011 / 6:36 am

    Are you on goodreads? I’ve been using it to keep a recOrd of what I read. In reality it just shows me how little reading I do but still…..

    • tinawheeze March 25, 2011 / 7:21 am

      Not on goodreads, Viv. I find a notepad in my bedside drawer works well since I do most of my reading in bed.

  2. Tess March 25, 2011 / 6:49 am

    Spooky. I was sitting and letting my mind wander yesterday and rewound to this time last year.

    I remember being invited to a barbeque for a girl’s birthday, someone who had generously covered my own fundraising efforts for a local paper and seemed interested in the same sorts of things I was. I wasn’t sure about going because I wouldn’t know anyone there.

    I planned just to go for a little while. And then time went on… and on … and on… and I realised I’d had such fun that I’d been there for hours.

    12 months later, I can’t imagine life without you.

Leave a Reply

